Pun’s hat-trick at Newa Charity 8 km Run

By Rohit Rai, Dharan

Indian Army Tritha Pun of Baglung won the Nepal Ice Dharan Run Sixth Newa Charity 8 Km Run on Saturday. This is his third regular win. Similarly, in the female category, Dhawika Kanchi Maya Koju of Armed Police Force won the title.

Pun completed eight kilometers in 26 minutes and 46 seconds whereas first and second runner ups of the competition Hari Rimal and Tikaraj Katawal completed the marathon in 27 minutes and 12 seconds as well as 27 minutes and 13 seconds, respectively. The winners received golden, silver and bronze medals along with Rs 40,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000, respectively.

Pun said, “I am happy that I was able to win the title three times. I hope to continue with my journey.”
Meanwhile, female winner Kanchi Maya Koju completed total distance in 31 minutes and 48 seconds. She has participated in seven national sports competition and has won two golden medals as of yet. This was her first participation in the Newa Charity 8 Km Run. The first and second runners up in th female’s category were Santoshi Shrestha and Fulmati Rana. They completed the marathon in 32 minutes and 3 second as well as in 32 minutes and 46 seconds, respectively. Koju won a gold medal along with Rs 40,000, while two others won silver medal and bronze medal along with Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000, respectively.

Similarly, in under-16 marathon of males, Prakash Kathayat, Sameer Mahara and Narayan Kumar stood first, second and third, respectively. Among the females, Srijana Rai, Amrita Bhandari and Bandana Buda stood first, second and third, respectively in the competition. The winners received medals along with the cash prize of Rs 7,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,000, respectively.

The marathon also had several other competitions under various categories. The proceeds raised from the charity run will be used to establish Newa Charity Health Fund, informed founder chairperson Santosh Rai. As many as four poor students have been getting education due to the education fund established last year.